Village Projects undertaken and completed in 2015 & 2016

Village Projects undertaken and completed in 2015 & 2016

Thanks to our many Village Volunteers, Craftsmen and sponsors all of whom made very significant contributions in helping us to achieve so many of these projects. Thanks also to Paul Joshi, Mike Redmond, Martin Raggett, Seamus Hurley and Paul Ryan for their magnificent cooperation and support under the CE & TUS schemes.

  1. Raised bed and sign at Merino Drive
  2. New Community Centre sign.
  3. Capped and rendered wall at Village Green
  4. Vintage Pump & Tub erected at Village Green.
  5. Old Village Green flower wall cleaned.
  6. Old flower beds revitalised
  7. Schoil Chiarain Nafoa Green Programme.
  8. Grass cutting and Weed control at all six approach roads with TUS scheme.
  9. Trees planted at Community Centre Park and Village Green.
  10. All flower Tubs and Beds planted.
  11. Shrubs planted.
  12. Rockery at Lawcus lane completed.
  13. Lough Mor Wall erected at Noreland’s and Main St junction.
  14. Flower bed at school wall.
  15. Culvert and lawn completed at Main St adjacent to Holland’s field.
  16. All gates and seats painted.
  17. Community Centre gable wall painted.
  18. Centre boundary wall painted.
  19. Lane to Malzard’s Soccer pitch cleaned and new surface laid.
  20. All street litter Bins and Bollards painted.
  21. Ramp path at Community Centre

Physical trade works carried out free of charge by Pat Phelan, Martin Raggett, Matthew Hanrahan, Oliver Roche, Bernard Dunne, Paddy O’Dwyer, Jim Rice, Eddie ???????, Danny Hudson, Paul Ryan, Eddie Walsh, Paschal Long, Joe Whyte, Johnny O’Grady, Pat O’Reilly and Breda Sheehan.

Our generous financial/barter sponsors included Glanbia Country Life, Irish Power & Process, Malzard’s Pub, Sheridan’s Pub, Jerpoint Park, Jerpoint Glass, Padraic O’Rourke, Highway Safety Developments, Stoneyford Engineering Ltd, Pamela Sheridan, Doyle Concrete, Hugginstown and O’Dwyer Fuels/KSM.

Thanks to the Tidy Towns committees over the past two years Geraldine Devine (Hon Sec), Paschal Long (Hon Treasurer), Regina Moran, Donal Sheridan, Joe Whyte, Paddy O’Dwyer, Jimmy Sheehan, Catherina Roche, Breda Sheehan, Kathy Ryan, Conchubhar de Roiste and Donie Butler (Chairman).



Thanks to all our many volunteers who took part in the many Litter Picks, River Cleaning and Flower/Shrub planting.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.Required fields are marked *