Carrickshock G.A.A. 20 Meitheamh 2016

Schools Camogie 2016S

Some of the Charrickshock Players.

Schools Camogie Final

Hard luck to the Carrickshock schools camogie team, who just came up short in their County Final last Saturday (11th) in Nowlan Park. In a very tough game Carrickshock opened the scoring through Bobbie Brennan,  scoring 1- 1 in the first five minutes. But Conahy, who had some very good players throughout the field, slowly started to get a grip. From then on it was backs to the wall for Carrickshock for most of the game. With heroic defence from Amy Fennelly in goal, and  Roisin Murphy, Catherine Guilfoyle, Faye Lanigan and Aine Rohan in the backs  Conahy could not break down the girls  At half time score Carrickshock were still ahead by 1-1 to 0-2, with Conahy’s scores coming from frees. Orlaith O’Shea, Monica Cotter-Diaz and Aoibhinn Malzard, in midfield were having a huge battle with some very good opponent.  Scorer in chief, Bobbie Brennan was being marked very tightly so scores were at a premium in the 2nd half. Conahy kept plugging away and took the lead for the 1st time with 8 minutues left,t 0-5 to 1-1.  But Aoife Drea and Catherine O’Toole (captain ) were working very hard in the forwards  and managed to set up Bobbie who levelled it with  the score of the game. It was nip and tuck then until a fortuitous goal beat Amy when time in the 1st minute of injury time. But they never gave up and went looking for an equaliser. When the final whistle went it was heart-break for the girls, who had made such a brave effort under severe pressure throughout. Other stars were Grainne Barron, and Laura Irish who came on as a sub. It was a super effort by the girls to get to the County Final after their shield win last year, and we owe a huge debt of gratitude to their coaches, Ciara Fennelly (Monroe NS), Elaine Holden and Emma Nolan (Stoneyford NS) .

The Full Panel: Amy Fennelly, Faye Lanigan, Catherine Guilfoyle, Roisin Murphy, Aine Rohan, Aoibhinn Malzard, Bobbie Brennan, Monica Cotter Diaz, Grainne Barron, Catriona O’Toole, Aoife Drea, Orlaith O’Shea, Laura Irish, Amber Hickey, Ella Mackey Maher, Gillian Fennelly, Lauren Brennan, Leslie Hughes, Clodagh O’Neill, Kayla Hickey, Lynn Fennelly, Aoife O’Shea, Chloe Power.


Junior A

Carrickshock welcome Mooncoin to Hugginstown at 7:00 next Sunday (26th) for the next round of the Junior A League / Championship.


Minor League

The minor league resumes after the exam break next Tuesday (28th) when our minors make the trip to Clogh to face Cloneen, throw-in 7.30.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *